The Scholarship Committee is responsible for the AASD Scholarship Program.

The committee will:

  1. Fundraise for the Scholarship Fund
  2. Solicit and approve scholarship applications
  3. Present Scholarships


Classified: Veronica Ortega Operations Specialist
Certificated: Sharon Rubalcava Program Manager, Secondary Teaching


Vincent Anthony Principal, Porter Elementary
Joe Cavaiola Associate Principal, La Jolla HS
Troy Hickey Building Site Supervisor III, Pacific Beach Middle School
Mary Johnson Program Manager, Program Monitoring
Jeff Sabins Principal, Mira Mesa HS
Lisa Sheldon Operations Specialist, Extended Learning
Jonel Smith Landscape Services Supervisor, PPO
Carmi Strom VAPA Arts Instructor
Angela Zarzosa Principal, Kumeyaay Elementary


Donis Coronel Executive Director
Patti Burch Office Clerk/Membership Coordinator

Meetings are scheduled as needed at 3:30-5:00 PM with an option to Zoom.

  • September 25, 2023
  • November 28, 2023
  • January 22, 2024
  • March 18, 2024
  • April 15, 2024